The Power of Words.

The most profound effect of the Masters of Education (Teacher Librarianship) course to date for me is related to Beverley Moriarty, the subject lecturer for EER500 Introduction to Educational Research. What a lovely lady.

The power of her words alone during podcasts, email and telephone correspondence and it’s ability to motivate me was absolutely amazing, and I’m sure she took such interest in all the students studying the subject. Her constant words of appreciation for all our hard work, indicating that we all had done such a marvelous job on the first wiki post, providing in depth feedback on our assignments and providing little insights into her own personal journey of study inspired me to try little bit harder.  I so didn’t want to disappoint her, even when at times I felt totally out of my depth with a lot of the information alien to me.

So why is this so very important to my future Teacher Librarian role. It highlights to me how important it is to deal with students and staff in a way that will motivate and encourage them to do the best that they can do. I totally underestimated the power of words. Making a student feel special, encouraging them to try their best and highlighting to them their strengths is a must. Yes we all know this, but at times I’m sure we don’t try hard enough in this department. Bev was what some would call “over the top”, but it certainly worked for me.

Interactions with fellow staff would also benefit from this approach and hopefully in turn encourage collaboration in the development of units of work, research or assessment tasks.

One thing is for sure, I will always remember Bev.

 

Leave a Reply

